Video store, Hepburn, Kafka on the Shore

I went to a mythical place yesterday.  A place that, until recently, I thought was lost to the world forever.  It was a video store.  Strictly speaking, this particular location of ‘MovieStop’ (a branch off of GameStop) did not rent out movies, only sold them.  I came across this magical place during my mostly fruitless search for classic Audrey Hepburn films. (Classic films are apparently a rarity these days.  I would procure my copies by…less official means, but alas I live on a college campus.)   Sadly, MovieStop only has a small collection of classic films for sale – but they are cheap, like the rest of the DVD’s sold there.  I managed to find a copy of “Funny Face”.  It was enjoyable…it had it’s charms, but I probably wouldn’t place it in my top 5 Hepburn films.

On a different note, I’ve recently been pondering the phrase “Art for Art’s Sake”.  Every song I write is easier to flesh out then the one before it.  I’m also excited less every time inspiration hits.  I guess this is because I rarely see any reward for the love and care I put into a song.  I suppose at this point I should just try and enjoy the process instead of expecting some kind of prize when I’m finished.  The feeling is just so indeterminate.  I have a couple people willing to listen, and I’d likely receive a pat on the back for my efforts, but I’d rather hide my creation forever than be patronized for it.

On a different, different note, I have been listening to the book “Kafka on the Shore” in audiobook format.  I’d heard only great things about the book, but now, 4/5 of the way through, all I can say is that I despise this book.  I deleted it off my phone without even getting to the end.  The entire book was just really bad philosophy poorly disguised as storytelling, with the occasional graphic sexual scene thrown in for good measure…to each his own I guess.

Leave a Reply

